Founded in 1996, the Day of Silence has become the largest single student-led action towards creating safer schools for all, regardless of sexual orientation, gender identity or gender expression. From the first-ever Day of Silence at the University of Virginia in 1996, to the organising efforts in over 8,000 middle schools, high schools, colleges and universities across the US and over 70 countries worldwide in 2013, its textured history reflects its diversity in both numbers and reach.

In 2007 the Day of Silence took place for the first time in New Zealand at Nayland College in Nelson. The day has been held at the school every year since and has grown to run in the other schools in the Nelson region and other places across the country.

So for 2014 we thought it was time to put Aotearoa on the map and make the Day of Silence a national campaign of InsideOut! We are now in our third year running.



The first school to take part in Day of Silence in Australasia in 2007!

This list includes schools that have officially registered and schools where individuals have registered.

Students from all these schools took part in 2016:
Napier Girls High School, Hastings Girls High School, Wellington College, Kapiti College, Wellington Girls’ College, Newlands College, Hutt Valley High School, Western springs college, Wellington East Girls’ College, Mt Roskill Grammar school, Whanganui High School, Fraser High School, Awatapu College, Spotswood College, Campion College, Vision College, Fairfield College, Burnside High School, Victoria University of Wellington, Taradale High School, Nelson College, University of Otago, Wellington School of Medicine, Tawa College, Logan Park High School, Fraser High School, Scots College, Onslow College, Queen’s High School, Southland Girls’ High School, Whitireia Performance Center, Aotea College, The New Zealand School of Film and Television, New Plymouth Girls’ High School, Tauhara College, Taupo-nui-a-Tia College.

Students from all these schools took part in 2015:
Hutt Valley High School, Western Springs College, Napier Girls’ High School, Waimea College, Hasting Girls’ High School, Nelson College for Girls, Wellington East Girls’ School, St Cuthbert’s College, Nayland College, Wellington Girls’ College, Cambridge High School, Maeroa Intermediate, Bayfield High School, Taupo-nui-a-Tia College, Tauhara College, Alternative Education Waiariki, Kelston Girls’ College, Campion College, Feilding Agricultural High School, Westlake Girls’ High School, Villa Maria College, Onslow College, Newlands College, Whanganui High School, Wellington High School, Takapuna Grammar School, Reporoa College, Raphael House Rudolf Steiner School, Whangarei Girls’ High School, Motueka High School, Mt Roskill Grammar School, Whanganui Girls’ College, Karori Youth Centre, Queen Margaret College, St Orans College, Nayland College, Edgewater College, Heretaunga College, Kapiti College, University of Canterbury.

Students from all these schools took part in 2014:
Onslow College, Hutt Valley High School, Motueka High School, Te Aroha College, Hastings Girls High School, Napier Boys’ High School, Waiopehu College, Westland High School, Waimea College, Tauranga Girls’ College, Nelson Girls’ College, Greymouth High School, Fairfield College, Epsom Girls’ Grammar School, Wellington High School, Mount Roskill Grammar School, Aotea College, Victoria University Wellington, Unitec, Taradale High School, Mount Albert Grammar School, Napier Girls’ High School, Long Bay College, Central Hawkes Bay College, Tawa College, Wintec, St Cuthberts College, Hamilton Girls’ High School, St Mary’s Diocesan School, Papanui High School, Wanganui Girls’ College, Kerikeri High School, Auckland Girls’ Grammar School, Rosehill College, Nga Tawa Diocesan School, Wanganui High School, Glenfield College, Hillcrest High-School, Tauhara College, Taupo-nui-a-Tia College, Teawamatu College